The Great Gatsby

17 Apr

As a follow up post to upcoming films I want to see, I forgot to include The Great Gatsby.  This adaptation from F. Scott Fitzgerald’s novel, this is actually a remake of the film “The Great Gatsby” which starred Robert Redford as Jay Gatsby and Mia Farrow as Daisy Buchanan.

Directed by Baz Luhrmann, the same director of Moulin Rouge and Romeo+Juliet, I now see the similarities of cinematographic style between the three films.  As a big fan of his adaptation of Romeo+Juliet, I am very excited to see how he takes on the Gatsby film.

Though it has been a while since I have seen the first Gatsby moive, I remember the pacing of it being rather slow and dragging along.  Just from the preview of this movie, it seems like pacing has picked up and the drama, sex, love, violence, and scandal have been amped up as well.

Starring Leonardo DiCaprio as Jay Gatsby, Carey Mulligan as Daisy Buchanan, Toby McGuire as Nick Carraway, and Joel Edgerton as Tom Buchanan.  I think that DiCaprio and Mulligan are excellent choices to take on these roles.

Also the sound track to this film seems great, very modern but fitting to the time/setting of the movie.

I cannot wait to see this in theaters May 10, 2013!

